Erotic Secrets of Pompeii

Apocalyptic lounge act playing danceable, televangelist jingles with hooks so bent you could use them to catch an octopus.

Initially conceived by frontman and self-appointed Svengali/Koresh figure Thomas Hawtin in the spring of 2018, ESOP's journey has been like that of an incoming meteor hurtling towards indiscriminate decimation! Along with Thomas Hawtin (vocals/samples), the band comprises Tom Hackwell (guitar/synth), Tim Helps (drums), Sean Jones (guitar), and Mole (bass guitar).

Taking their cues from intelligent post-punk and experimental art-rock, ESOP's songs ring with disparate elements, from industrial to world music. Thomas' baritone croon descends from drawl to manic yelp as quickly as the music turns form catchy groove-based euphony to discord and angulation.

Lyrically dark, Erotic Secrets of Pompeii's songs are charged with unsettling, grotesque imagery. Themes include the banality of evil; the walls humankind erect between nations (as well as in our own personal lives); the lizard people who deflower our young; and the great big worm in your leg that controls your every waking decision.

2019 is set to be their undoing... stand back and watch the self-destruction, the mad flagellation.